IMAX Sneak Peek of Guardians of the Galaxy

guardiansofthegalaxy

Thanks to my cousin being on top of all things Marvel, tonight I was able to make it to the IMAX 17-minute sneak peek of James Gunn’s Guardians of the Galaxy, which will be coming to theaters on August 1st.

If you’ve seen the trailer then you already know that somehow these 5 characters end up in prison together. The footage we were shown tonight starts off with what you see in the picture above, with them all lined up and John C. Reilly’s character identifying them by name and crimes committed. The rest of the footage focuses on their plan and, ultimately, their attempt to escape the prison.

starlord

Being unfamiliar with the story from not having read any of the comics, I can tell you what I know about the characters from the little bit that I’ve seen. I’m not giving any spoilers here, since what I saw wasn’t very spoilery anyway. Peter Quill a.k.a. Star-Lord (Chris Pratt) is the charismatic leader who is very sensitive about his music, specifically Blue Swede’s “Hooked on a Feeling” which facilitates a brawl with an alien police officer. I don’t blame him, really. That song is pretty catchy. In fact, I’m still singing it to myself right gamoranow. Gamora (Zoe Saldana) is basically a green-skinned badass who has a low tolerance for idiocy. Her fighting style looks awesome. Gamora also has a connection with the main villain of the story, I won’t say how since I am not sure of its level of spoilery. Rocket, who has a real tough guy voice courtesy of Bradley Cooper, not only serves as the brains, but also the comedic flair. I couldn’t expect more from a violent, machine rocket-and-grootgun-wielding raccoon. No really, he might even be my favorite character already. Groot (voiced by Vin Diesel) doesn’t really have much to say except for “I am Groot,” but he proves himself very useful in a lot of ways as Rocket’s personal bodyguard. Drax (Dave Bautista) is a very big guy who can no doubt hold his own against any enemy, and he’s known for being very literal. But nothing goes over his head, because he’s “too quick, and will catch it.” Overall, it’s a pretty good draxensemble and I love the way these characters work together. I especially love the bickering between Peter Quill and Rocket, a lot of the dialogue and the way it was delivered just shows how comical this movie will be, and from what I’ve been told, the comic books are just as funny and light-hearted. It’s good to know they’ll be sticking to them tonally.

Aside from the characters, this movie just looks absolutely amazing in IMAX 3D. If you have the option to see it in that format when it comes out, I would highly recommend it. It takes you right into that world. Of course, the prison scenes hardly even do it justice, but if you’ve seen any of the recent trailers for it in IMAX 3D, you’ll know how cool some of the scenes look. I can’t wait to see the rest of this movie, I’m impressed with what I’ve seen so far and it looks awesome. Hopefully will not be disappointed.

guardians-of-the-galaxy

 

Below is the most recent trailer that accompanied the sneak peek tonight.

8 thoughts on “IMAX Sneak Peek of Guardians of the Galaxy

  1. Sounds awesome. And yeah, Gamora’s relationship with the villain Guardians and another villain from The Avengers (who is also connected to the villain in this movie) are pretty spoiler-y.

    Like

  2. Bummed about not being able to catch the sneak peek of this eclectic ensemble, but this sounds great. While I’m not a fan of IMAX 3D, I might make an exception for this.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Favorite Movies Based on Marvel Comics | Justine's Movie Blog

Leave a Reply

