The Ten Most Iconic Female Movie Characters Blogathon

banner

Thank you Ryan at Ten Stars or Less for nominating me for The Ten Most Iconic Female Movie Characters blogathon. It’s nice, for a change, to recognize the strong female characters who have carried some of our favorite movies to success. Without further ado, here are the rules as described by the creator of this blogathon, Dell on Movies

A list of 10 iconic female movie characters has been made. That list will be assigned to another blogger who can then change it by removing one character (describing why they think she should not be on the list) and replacing it with another one (also with motivation) and hand over the baton to another blogger. Once assigned, that blogger will have to put his/her post up within a week. If this is not the case the blogger who assigned it has to reassign it to another blogger.

Ryan had recently removed Jackie Brown and replaced her with Bella Swan. Here is the current list now:

ellen-ripley

princess-leia

marge-gunderson

scarlet-ohara

rose-woodhouse

clarice-starling

the-bride

maria-von-trapp

????????????????????????????????????????

bellaswan

It wasn’t easy to choose a lady to take off this list, as I agree with every choice and the reasons why they’re considered iconic. Ellen Ripley and Princess Leia are obvious choices, and if they weren’t on this list already, they would’ve been my first two options. As much as I hate Bella, it’s true that there’s hardly a person out there who doesn’t know about the Twilight movies and the part she played in them, she may not be generally likable, but she is iconic. I thought about removing Marge Gunderson, because she’s one of those characters I feel like no one knows unless you’ve actually seen Fargo, but I love her too much to do it. I’m also a personal fan of horror movies and thrillers and a lot of the females on this list are horror/thriller characters, like Ripley, Rosemary, and Clarice. Not only are they personal favorites of mine, but they’ve proven that women can really bring a lot to the table when it comes to the creepy stuff.

I love this list as it is, but I have to choose one so…I am going to remove Maria Von Trapp. I know everyone knows what The Sound of Music is, it is an iconic movie in general. Julie Andrews is no doubt amazing in it, but when I think of iconic females, she’s one of the last that comes to mind. I’m not sure why, I’ll just attribute it to the fact that I’m young and haven’t watched The Sound of Music more than a couple of times. Honestly, I didn’t remember what her character’s name was until I saw a live production of it on cable not too long ago and Carrie Underwood played the role. For the record, it didn’t hold a candle to the movie. Anyway, sorry, Maria, you’re still amazing!

With that said, there are quite a few female characters who were removed who probably could be re-added, like Mary Poppins or Dorothy Gale, for instance. However, I’m going to introduce a new option. So I’ve chosen…

carrie

I haven’t even sat down and watched Carrie until a few years ago, but I always knew who Carrie White was even when I was a little girl. She’s the telekinetic girl with the crazy, religious fanatic mother. She’s the girl who is bullied, gets pig’s blood dumped on her, and goes psycho at her high school prom. Even if you haven’t actually seen it, you probably already know how the story goes. But if you have, you know she’s not easily forgettable. Sissy Spacek is Carrie, and I think that every time I see her acting in anything else. It is, in my opinion, the most iconic role of her career, and she plays one of the most iconic female characters to date.

I’m happy to have gotten a chance to be a part of this blogathon, and now I am going to pass the torch to Emma at emmakwall (explains it all). Good luck!

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , by Justine B.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Justine B.

I'm a 25-year-old who grew up watching all kinds of movies and have always been passionate about them. I am a college grad who studied films, filmmaking, and writing, so why not put those skills to good use and write about movies? My goal is to see as many movies as I can and share them with fellow movie lovers. I've created this blog in order to do just that. I want to write about movies, new and old, and share updates on things I'm excited about.

8 thoughts on “The Ten Most Iconic Female Movie Characters Blogathon

  1. THANK YOU!!!! I can’t believe you kept Bella on the list! I need to send you a Christmas gift or something ha ha. I figured she’d be the first cut, she was kinda set up for it.
    You made an awesome choice! Carrie White is an iconic woman and Sissy Spacek was amazing. 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow thank you so much!!! I’m definitely leaving Marge Gunderson on by the way, I love her (and Fargo) too! If she was removed, I’d have to get snippy !

    🙂 thanks so much Justine, really means a lot, I can’t wait to complete!!!

    Like

  3. Hello, Justine. Thanks for keeping this thing rolling. Sorry it’s taken me so long to comment on it and to add a link to this post on my blog, which I’m doing right after I finish this comment. Love the choice of Carrie White. Can’t really go wrong with that one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

