2014: My Year in Review

2014 has come and gone pretty quickly. Granted, I’ve only been blogging since May and not the whole year. In that amount of time I was able to watch a ton of new releases, some good and some bad. Before I get into that, though, I would just like to say that I appreciate each and every one of my followers and the time you take to read my stuff (or even just scroll through it). I love all the feedback you guys give, even if it takes me a while to respond to your comments sometimes. I try! But honestly, the movie blogging community on here is awesome, and thanks to a lot of you and your posts, I’ve managed to discover so many great movies that would’ve otherwise slipped under the radar for me. You may not realize it, but a lot of you are my go-to’s for movie news and reviews and stuff, so thank you all for being amazing and informative!

Also, thank you to the following people for allowing me to write long, rambling guest posts on your sites: Rob from Movierob, Rich and Mark from the ISCFC, and Gabe from basilmarinerchase.

I am definitely all for writing for and/or with you guys again. If anyone else wants to ever collaborate on a post, I am always down for it! Contact me via Twitter @justine_baron, or just leave a comment anywhere on the site.

As far as reviews go, I unfortunately haven’t gotten the chance to review even half of the movies I’ve seen this year because, honestly, it takes me forever to write a review and I rarely have the time. I’m still currently working on my Into the Woods review right now which I’ll probably post in a day or two. Also within the next month, I’m going to try and catch up on reviews of my favorite movies from this year that I haven’t gotten a chance to write about yet, at least the ones that might have a chance of making it into my top 10 list.

I know it’s the season for everyone to be posting their top lists from the year, and I’ll be doing the same, but not until I’ve seen everything I want to see. So that’ll be coming probably some time at the end of this month. I know what you’re thinking, how will you live your life if you don’t know what my favorite movies were? Well, fortunately and unfortunately, I only wrote 29 reviews of 2014 releases (wow, that’s not a lot is it?), and since there’s so few, I’m going to list them so you at least have an idea of what I thought was awesome and what totally sucked (because my opinion is just so highly valued and all). Here it is according to rating (out of 5):

5
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Gone Girl
Guardians of the Galaxy
Nightcrawler
The Raid 2
Whiplash
X-Men: Days of Future Past

4.5 
Big Hero 6
Edge of Tomorrow
Snowpiercer

4
Killers
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The Zero Theorem

3.5
Interstellar

3
Enemy
Godzilla
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
Unbroken

2.5
22 Jump Street

2
Jersey Boys
Life After Beth
Lucy
Maleficent

1.5
The Expendables 3
Transformers: Age of Extinction

1
Fading Gigolo
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

It seems I’ve loved a lot more movies than I’ve hated, but more than likely I just didn’t bother to review a lot of them. I also hate giving less than a 2 to any movie, because I can always find redeeming qualities in anything I watch. But let’s face it, what kind of an amateur critic would I be if I didn’t rip apart at least a few of them?

I’m happy to hear that a lot of you appreciate and can make use of the Netflix posts I do. It’s probably my most popular feature on here and I will be continuing to do those for as long as I can. It takes quite a while to gather the information, but I try to do them as early as possible every month. As long as I can find it, I will post it.

I’m also going to eventually be returning to my one movie review post per week of a great classic (or just slightly older movie) I think everyone should see. I’ve missed doing those over the past few months. I just have to write faster, I guess, and stop slacking – obviously.

All in all, I think it’s been a successful 8 months for me. I’ve seen a lot of great films and enjoyed writing about them. There’s a lot of movies I’m looking forward to seeing this year. And of course, awards seasons is coming up soon, and I’m looking forward to that as well and will be covering that at some point. So here’s to hoping for another successful year for film! Thank you all for giving me the motivation for continuing this writing hobby of mine, you’re all wonderful. I hope everyone had a very Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , by Justine B.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Justine B.

I'm a 25-year-old who grew up watching all kinds of movies and have always been passionate about them. I am a college grad who studied films, filmmaking, and writing, so why not put those skills to good use and write about movies? My goal is to see as many movies as I can and share them with fellow movie lovers. I've created this blog in order to do just that. I want to write about movies, new and old, and share updates on things I'm excited about.

6 thoughts on “2014: My Year in Review

Leave a Reply

