2015 Oscar Nominations & Predictions

theoscars

Well it’s almost that time of year again, where a panel of snobs tell us which movie is worthy of carrying the title “Best Picture of the Year.” Sometimes we agree with the Academy, and sometimes we don’t, but that hardly matters. We get to be entertained watching rich and famous people congratulate each other on their achievements through tears, laughter, and plenty of praises to God. I’m not being cynical, I love the Oscars and will be the first person to admit that, but they aren’t the deciding factor of whether or not I should love a movie I’ve seen or didn’t see. Nope, the best part of it all for me is seeing how many predictions I actually get right. So I’ve broken all the categories down and have named who I think the Academy will pick to win, who I personally think should win, and who I believe was snubbed. Once the Oscars air tomorrow night, I’ll be updating this post with the actual winners, and tallying up how many I actually managed to guess correctly. Fun stuff, right? Let’s do it.

*UPDATED* with the winners. After all is said and done, I was 16 for 24 in my predictions.


BEST PICTURE

NOMINEES:
American Sniper
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – *WINNER*
Boyhood
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
Selma
The Theory of Everything
Whiplash

Who Will Win: Boyhood
Who Should Win: Whiplash or Birdman
Who Was Snubbed: Gone Girl

Boyhood seemed like a shoo-in for much of the year, but now some people are predicting Birdman could take home the big prize. They are pretty much neck and neck at this point, but my money is still on Boyhood. It’s not a movie I loved, personally, but that matters little. If I were to choose, I’d give it to Whiplash, but seeing as how that would never happen in a billion years, Birdman would be my second choice. Also, Gone Girl should’ve at least been nominated, it’s loads better than films like American Sniper. What nonsense.


BEST DIRECTOR

NOMINEES:
Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – *WINNER*
Richard Linklater, Boyhood
Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

Who Will Win: Richard Linklater
Who Should Win: Richard Linklater
Who Was Snubbed: David Fincher (Gone Girl), Ava DuVernay (Selma) and Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)

Again, Birdman and Boyhood are at the head of the race, here. Even though I liked Birdman better as a whole, I have to give credit to Richard Linklater for what he did with Boyhood. It’s possible that Iñárritu could win this one, but I’m still betting on Linklater. He took home the Golden Globe, and he’s been getting nothing but praise during the whole 2014 year. I’m surprised DuVernay was not nominated, and I think she or Fincher should’ve taken the spot of Bennett Miller. They didn’t even nominate Foxcatcher for Best Picture, and yet Miller is taking up a directing spot, unbelievable.


BEST ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

NOMINEES:
Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
Michael Keaton, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything – *WINNER*

Who Will Win: Eddie Redmayne
Who Should Win: Michael Keaton
Who Was Snubbed: Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler) and David Oyelowo (Selma)

This is a close one between Eddie Redmayne and Michael Keaton. I think I had mentioned at one point that Redmayne deserves this one, but after having rewatched both Birdman and The Theory of Everything, Keaton stood out for me more. I still think the Academy will pick Redmayne, though, because they love it when actors play real people with diseases and disabilities (sorry, but it’s true). I won’t be mad, he was still impressive. Gyllenhaal and Oyelowo were totally overlooked, though.


BEST ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

NOMINEES:
Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore, Still Alice – *WINNER*
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Who Will Win: Julianne Moore
Who Should Win: Rosamund Pike
Who Was Snubbed: Amy Adams (Big Eyes)

Julianne Moore seems like the obvious choice. She was great in Still Alice, and she rarely ever gives a bad performance in anything, but I loved Rosamund Pike more. She was chilling as Amy Dunne in Gone Girl, and her performance stuck with me longer. Amy Adams is amazing in everything she’s in, and it seemed odd when she took home a Golden Globe but wasn’t nominated for an Oscar. But it’s not a huge snub, because every lady in this category I think deserves to be here.


BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

NOMINEES:
Robert Duvall, The Judge
Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
Edward Norton, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash – *WINNER*

Who Will Win: J.K. Simmons
Who Should Win: J.K. Simmons
Who Was Snubbed: Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice)

J.K. Simmons was my absolute favorite of the bunch here, and I am fairly sure he will be taking home the Oscar tomorrow night. It’s well deserved. Edward Norton would be my second choice, and probably the Academy’s too. Josh Brolin I think was snubbed because he gave what was probably the best performance in the convoluted mess of a film that was Inherent Vice. I would’ve picked him over Ethan Hawke, but most likely because I just hated Hawke’s “cool but absent dad” role in Boyhood.


BEST ACTESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

NOMINEES:
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood – *WINNER*
Laura Dern, Wild
Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
Emma Stone, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

Who Will Win: Patricia Arquette
Who Should Win: Patricia Arquette
Who Was Snubbed: Renee Russo (Nightcrawler) and Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Patricia Arquette is the best part about Boyhood. She’s the most real, relatable character of the bunch, and her performance is heartbreaking at times, especially towards the end when she realizes her kids are grown up and leaving her behind. She deserves the Oscar, and I think she’ll get it. I’ve got to say, I love Laura Dern, but her role in Wild is probably the least deserving of a nomination, she was barely even in the friggin’ movie. And Meryl Streep? Alright, I love her, but come on! Rene Russo or Tilda Swinton for her crazy, unrecognizable role in Snowpiercer should’ve been nominated.


BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

NOMINEES:
Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – *WINNER*
Richard Linklater, Boyhood
E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman, Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler

Who Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Should Win: Nightcrawler
Who Was Snubbed: J.C. Chandor (A Most Violent Year)

I can see Wes Anderson taking home this one, and if he does, I won’t even be mad about it. I loved The Grand Budapest Hotel and I think the screenplay was great. Nightcrawler was just a personal favorite of mine, and I loved how the character of Lou Bloom was written, with all that crazy, manipulative dialogue. If either Anderson or Gilroy took home the Oscar, I’d be happy. J.C. Chandor and his film A Most Violent Year were definitely overlooked, that story could’ve easily gone down the cliché route, becoming a typical gangster movie, but it didn’t, and instead was a unique twist about a man trying to keep his business clean in a dirty and corrupt industry. Worthy of some recognition, I think.


BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

NOMINEES:
Jason Hall, American Sniper
Graham Moore, The Imitation Game – *WINNER*
Paul Thomas Anderson, Inherent Vice
Anthony McCarten, The Theory of Everything
Damien Chazelle, Whiplash

Who Will Win: The Imitation Game
Who Should Win: Whiplash
Who Was Snubbed: Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)

First of all, Whiplash shouldn’t even be in the “Adapted Screenplay” category, it should be in “Original Screenplay,” but I guess I won’t nitpick too much. I can definitely see The Imitation Game winning this one. I enjoyed it, but I think Gone Girl, which was one of the most insulting snubs of the year to me, should’ve won. But since it wasn’t nominated, I’m going with my favorite film of the year, Whiplash as my “should win” choice. But let’s be honest, it probably won’t win.


BEST ANIMATED FEATURE

NOMINEES:
Big Hero 6 – *WINNER*
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
Song of the Sea
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

Who Will Win: How to Train Your Dragon 2
Who Should Win: The Tale of the Princess Kaguya
Who Was Snubbed: The Lego Movie

I liked How to Train Your Dragon 2, but it’s probably one of the least deserving in this category to win. I actually hope I’m wrong about the Academy, and they go with The Tale of the Princess Kaguya, which is way more deserving and my personal pick. Or even Big Hero 6, I’d be okay with that choice as well. I’ll admit, I didn’t see Song of the Sea so I can’t judge it fairly. Also, The Lego Movie, one of the most positively reviewed movies to have come out last year, being left out–that was a huge surprise.


BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE

NOMINEES:
Citizenfour – *WINNER*
Finding Vivian Maier
Last Days in Vietnam
The Salt of the Earth
Virunga

Who Will Win: Citizenfour
Who Should Win: Citizenfour
Who Was Snubbed: Life Itself

Out of these five documentaries, I’ve only seen Citizenfour and Finding Vivian Maier. I liked both, but I’m surprised Life Itself wasn’t nominated. I probably would’ve picked that one. But out of the two I’ve seen, I liked Citizenfour best, and I have a feeling it will be the Academy’s choice as well. We’ll see!


BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

NOMINEES:
Ida (Poland), Directed by Pawel Pawlikowski – *WINNER*
Leviathan (Russia), Directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev
Tangerines (Estonia), Directed by Zaza Urushadze
Timbuktu (Mauritania), Directed by Abderrahmane Sissako
Wild Tales (Argentina), Directed by Damián Szifron

Who Will Win: Ida
Who Should Win: Ida
Who Was Snubbed: Two Days, One Night (Belgium) and Force Majeure (Sweden)

Again, I’ve only seen two out of five here, so I almost feel bad including these categories, but I’m still going to guess. Ida would be my pick for what I think will win and should win. It’s a beautiful film story wise and visually. Two Days, One Night and Force Majeure were my two favorite foreign films from last year, though. I think they both should’ve been contenders.


BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

NOMINEES: 
Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) -*WINNER*
Robert Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski, Ida
Dick Pope, Mr. Turner
Roger Deakins, Unbroken

Who Will Win: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Who Should Win: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Who Was Snubbed: Hoyte Van Hoytema (Interstellar)

Birdman gets my vote for the continuous-shot filming style. It’s something you don’t see often, and it really helped make the film what it is. Ida would be a close second. I also think Interstellar should’ve been included here.


BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN

NOMINEES:
Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration), The Grand Budapest Hotel – *WINNER*
Maria Djurkovic (Production Design); Tatiana Macdonald (Set Decoration), The Imitation Game
Nathan Crowley (Production Design); Gary Fettis (Set Decoration), Interstellar
Dennis Gassner (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration), Into the Woods
Suzie Davies (Production Design); Charlotte Watts (Set Decoration), Mr. Turner

Who Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Should Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Was Snubbed: Ondrej Nekvasil (Production Design); Beatrice Brentnerova (Set Decoration), (Snowpiercer)

The Grand Budapest Hotel, hands down. Loved the production design in that film, although if Snowpiercer was actually nominated, that probably would’ve been my personal pick.


BEST FILM EDITING

NOMINEES:
Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach, American Sniper
Sandra Adair, Boyhood
Barney Pilling, The Grand Budapest Hotel
William Goldenberg, The Imitation Game
Tom Cross, Whiplash – *WINNER*

Who Will Win: Boyhood
Who Should Win: Whiplash
Who Was Snubbed: Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione (Birdman)

Boyhood could definitely win this one, but I’m hoping Whiplash will instead. It’s really a toss up between the two for who I think the Academy will pick, but I’m leaning towards Boyhood. I also think Birdman should’ve been nominated simply because you can’t see the edits, which I guess would mean that’s pretty good editing, no?


BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

NOMINEES:
Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel – *WINNER*
Alexandre Desplat, The Imitation Game
Hans Zimmer, Interstellar
Gary Yershon, Mr. Turner
Jóhann Jóhannsson, The Theory of Everything

Who Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Should Win: Interstellar
Who Was Snubbed: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Gone Girl) and Mica Levi (Under the Skin)

The Grand Budapest Hotel is what I think the Academy will choose, although Interstellar I found to be more impressive score-wise. Gone Girl and Under the Skin should’ve been in this category, though. Both had hauntingly beautiful, mood-setting scores which deserved more recognition.


BEST ORIGINAL SONG

NOMINEES:
Shawn Patterson, “Everything is Awesome” (The Lego Movie)
John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn, “Glory” (Selma) – *WINNER*
Diane Warren, “Grateful” (Beyond the Lights)
Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond, “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” (Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me)
Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois, “Lost Stars” (Begin Again)

Who Will Win: “Glory” (Selma)
Who Should Win: “Glory” (Selma)
Who Was Snubbed: Lana Del Rey and Dan Heath, “Big Eyes” (Big Eyes) and Lorde and Joel Little, “Yellow Flicker Beat” (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1)

I’m going with “Glory” on this one for both. “Everything is Awesome” is a fun, catchy one, but I doubt it’ll be picked. I also personally liked “Big Eyes” and “Yellow Flicker Beat.” They aren’t spectacular songs, but are any of these really that great?


BEST COSTUME DESIGN

NOMINEES:
Milena Canonero, The Grand Budapest Hotel – *WINNER*
Mark Bridges, Inherent Vice
Colleen Atwood, Into the Woods
Anna B. Sheppard, Maleficent
Jacqueline Durran, Mr. Turner

Who Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Should Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Was Snubbed: Hmmmmmm, nope. Can’t think of anything.

The Grand Budapest Hotel for the awesome purple hotel staff uniforms, among other things. Into the Woods and Inherent Vice would probably follow close behind for me.


BEST MAKEUP & HAIRSTYLING

NOMINEES:
Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard, Foxcatcher
Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier, The Grand Budapest Hotel – *WINNER*
Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White, Guardians of the Galaxy

Who Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who Should Win: Guardians of the Galaxy
Who Was Snubbed: Into the Woods

Going with The Grand Budapest Hotel, mainly for the old woman make-up on Tilda Swinton, and I think the Academy is more likely to pick this. But Guardians of the Galaxy had way more fun make-up and hairstyling, and it deserves to win at least one category, although it probably won’t.


BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

NOMINEES:
Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick, Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould, Guardians of the Galaxy
Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher, Interstellar – *WINNER*
Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer, X-Men: Days of Future Past

Who Will Win: Interstellar
Who Should Win: Interstellar
Who Was Snubbed: Godzilla

Interstellar will most likely win, and it would be my choice also, although Dawn of the Planet of the Apes would follow close behind due to the effects with motion capture and the fact that the apes’ expressions looked very human. The rest of the nominees are worthy as well, but I also think Godzilla should’ve been credited for the colossal awesome looking monster.


BEST SOUND EDITING

NOMINEES: 
Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman, American Sniper – *WINNER*
Martin Hernández and Aaron Glascock, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Brent Burge and Jason Canovas, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Richard King, Interstellar
Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro, Unbroken

Who Will Win: American Sniper
Who Should Win: Interstellar
Who Was Snubbed: Uhhh, I’m going to go with…no one?

American Sniper probably because…war, bullets and all that. Interstellar deserves it though for its collaborative visuals and sound making me feel like I was being sucked into black holes and such.


BEST SOUND MIXING

NOMINEES:
John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin, American Sniper
Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten, Interstellar
Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee, Unbroken
Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley, Whiplash – *WINNER*

Who Will Win: American Sniper
Who Should Win: Whiplash
Who Was Snubbed: No opinion.

American Sniper again for the reasons I stated above. But Whiplash because it deserves to win everything (bad reasoning? Don’t care).


BEST ANIMATED SHORT FILM

NOMINEES:
The Bigger Picture
The Dam Keeper
Feast*WINNER*
Me and My Moulton
A Single Life

Who Will Win: Feast

Feast is the only animated short I actually saw, and that’s because it played before Big Hero 6 in theaters, so I’m going to guess this one.


BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT FILM

NOMINEES:
Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 – *WINNER*
Joanna
Our Curse
The Reaper
White Earth

Who Will Win: Joanna

Never saw a single one of these, so Joanna is just a wild guess.


BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM

NOMINEES:
Aya
Boogaloo and Graham
Butter Lamp (La Lampe au Beurre de Yak)
Parvaneh
The Phone Call – *WINNER*

Who Will Win: Parvaneh

Another wild guess, because I haven’t seen any of these. But I’m sure they’re all lovely.


Well there’s all the categories broken down by yours truly. A lot of them are just guesses, others are based on winners of other awards shows, etc. Can’t wait to see how many I actually guessed right! Who do you all think is going to take home the Oscar in the big categories? Opinions on possible winners and snubs? Feel free to discuss. And Happy Oscar Sunday, everyone!

9 thoughts on “2015 Oscar Nominations & Predictions

  1. Very interesting choices and arguments. I totally share you opinion on Nightcrawler. My review was littered with anger ha for its omissions. I’d forgotten Hawke was nominated. Nothing spectacular about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

